I am entering a short story contest.

I don't know which one... but I'm going to enter one.

Why?  Because my dad heard about one on the radio, which got me thinking.  So I looked some things up on the internet and... I didn't find a contest I wanted to enter.

HOWEVER, I did read some inspiring stuff.  One guy said that he entered an excerpt from his novel.  While he didn't achieve first place, though in the top five, he was able to contact publishers.  And, using the bit of 'fame' he got from the contest, he actually got published.

So I don't have hope for something that big, though it would AWESOME to actually win something.  Though I don't have hopes for that either.

Anyway, as most of you may know, I've just killed some WF (Writer's Flu), and in the meanwhile defeated its ally, Procrastination.  Now I'm hunting for some inspiration.

But I don't necessarily need inspiration.  I need a drive.  Something to strive for.

NaNoWriMo was perfect.  I wrote more in one month than I could have ever before.  60,000 words.  Just think, 60,000 words is like... like an army.  An army of words.

Enough of that though.  As I was saying, I need to have a drive to write, a dead line (you know, where you get to it or else you're dead, the most serious kind of dead line), and I also need some hope.

While the May deadline for the NaNoWriMo books is making me anxious, I just can't focus on that.  I've spent a whole month dedicated to writing 2,000  words each day, I need something fresh, and I've found that taking the month of December off didn't help me.

So... I am going to 'host' my own Short Story Contest.  Why?  Just for fun.  But, if you do write a short story, send it to me using my email -> scoutofdunnwood[AT]gmail.com <- And I'll give you a badge.  (:D)  (If you don't want to send it to me, it's just fine, I'll give it to you anyway).


A second post coming later today... or early tomorrow.

"Thy word is thy weapon.  Use it with caution." -Me

The WordWeaver
Moira
1/12/2013 04:35:46 am

Whoa. That's my one thought after reading this. I'd prefer not to send you my short story via email (as you may have gathered from my... responses in the email slot ;) ), but may I post it here? If not, that's fine :) Also, I don't even know if I'll do it. Not that I don't want to! It's a great idea. I'm just still trying to focus on two books...

Looking forward to that post!

And an original quote by yours truly (me): WRITE! WRITE! YOU CAN DO IT! WRITE! WRITE! YOU CAN DO IT!!
In other words, I know you'll do great :) Go Warrior!

--Sho-Mo--

Reply
The WordWeaver
1/15/2013 05:16:06 am

Yeah, I figured as much :P

But that's okay, I'm posting the rules (among other things) as soon as I finish responding to all my comments. *looks at list, is surprised how many there are*

Anyway, as I wrote the post I was thinking of all the things you're busy with... and that you probably wouldn't do it, but it's fine. :)

Awesome quote, and thanks, *cringes at the thought of writing* lol.

Reply
Princess Writer
1/16/2013 06:17:01 am

OK. Sounds good....
Yeah, I'm a little busy. ;) Plus, I just got another writing project, which is kinda time sensitive, so that ex-ed out any possibility of doing the contest :( But another time, 'k?

Haha :) You can do it!

Princess Writer

WordWeaver
1/16/2013 11:34:29 am

Aw, yeah, I guess that would be quite busy. :(

But yeah, later on I'll definitely have a contest again... though not for a while.

Reply
General J.S.
1/12/2013 07:21:11 am

What is the deadline for your contest?

I STILL am researching for F.W...

Reply
The WordWeaver
1/15/2013 05:11:39 am

Ohhh... yeah, that's what I forgot. I knew I forgot something but couldn't remember what. :P

I'll post the deadline (and a few other rules) in another post coming as soon as I finish responding to the comments.

Yeah, researching can be a pain. Especially when nothing seems to have the answers. ANYWHERE.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.