That title is what I have, (and I know other writers have) gone through.

Inspiration just doesn't always come.  You can't just summon it with a snap of your fingers, or the stomp of a foot.

No, your going to have to go after it, ready for a fight.  And I have to admit I didn't do that these past few days.

I get an idea, I write for an hour or less, then suddenly, I feel no longer inspired and drop my ideas, and leave.  That, in part, was because I wasn't hunting the right inspiration.  I was taking anything that came to me.  I was desperate to write, but not desperate enough to stick with it.

My proof?  I've started 2 books that, likely, will never go beyond ten pages.  Nothing is extremely wrong with that, but it shows that I'm not focused, and that those two books are pieces of worthless trash.

Now don't try to convince me otherwise, I bet you, that while I'll possibly take a few elements from those two stories, I will never, never complete them.

And that's the hole that I have fell into this December.  Writing a novel isn't easy.  On the contrary, it's one of the hardest things a 12 year old like me could do.  But I was making it up to myself that it was easy.  Biggest mistake so far I've made of 2013 (not like we are far into it...).

(Cuts off rabbit-trail)  Back to the point.

Inspiration is a fleeting glimpse you'll see everywhere.  Especially when you are lost and  don't know what to write.  But Do Not fall into the trap I did; going after goose trails and expecting to win something from it.  Those bits of 'inspiration' will eventually stab you in the back by abandoning you ten pages in.

So I tell you now to go after the real inspiration, and before anything at all is written down.  Test your story.

It must be like a trampoline.  Bounce you up when you need help, but not keep you stuck and confined to the rules, by lifting you up... did I just make any sense?  I hope so.

Then, test the story's originality.  Is it a copy of Narnia?  The Lord of the Rings?  Star Wars?

Next, you must assure the amount of material you have for it.  How many scenes do you have?  How many characters, events, places?  It helps this entire process if you have an outline, outlines are a MUST (but that is for another post).

So to finish this post up, I'll say this last thing.  Know your story.  Will it hold you up?  Because those times when you fall... well, you're going to have something strong to hold you up.

May thy Pen rush with the ink of true inspiration, thy pencil flow with alacrity, and thy keyboard blaze with words of fire.

The WordWeaver
1/11/2013 07:55:27 am

Great post. :) But I don't think it's finished....it sort of ended with "and they" :P

Reply
The WordWeaver
1/15/2013 04:50:07 am

Thanks.

And... yeah, it's annoying when it happens. I don't know why it sometimes cuts it off. :( :P I'll fix it though.

Reply
General J.S.
1/11/2013 10:05:44 am

DON'T THROW GOOD THINGS AWAY!

07/16/2012

2 Comments

Picture
Don't throw an idea away. Of course, you can get rid of things that you absolutely know you won't use later, but any idea that seems reasonable, don't throw away. Even if that idea or small writing can't be used now, who knows, it could be the perfect thing later. Save all your writings, and if you don't keep them on paper make sure to at least keep them safely hidden in the "random writings" folder that you have on your computer, please tell me you do have a "random writings" folder on your computer!



Disclaimer: Good Ideas were never really harmed in the picture above.

In other words...keep your general ideas!

Reply
Moira
1/11/2013 10:26:08 pm

Amen. Sooooo true.... I go through this about once every two months. I'm still trying to figure out which ones are which! But I think one can definitely tell after a few days (or weeks!) which one is true inspiration.

Thanks for this! Good post.

Sho-Mo

Reply
The WordWeaver
1/15/2013 04:55:15 am

Ouch, that's a lot of times, though I can't honestly say I don't get it that much either.

Yeah, finding out which are which can be a... treacherous process. :P

You're welcome, and I also thank you for reading. :)

Reply
PW
1/16/2013 06:15:03 am

Yup... I agree! It's hard.

You're welcome! This blog is so encouraging to me...... I don't know of many other writers in my area who are my age, so this is great :-) Keep it up!

Princess Writer

WordWeaver
1/16/2013 11:37:54 am

I'm glad it's encouraging, that's what it's meant for!

Yeah, neither do I. I know of two people who write, and I rarely get to talk to either of them. D:

Reply
General J.S.
1/17/2013 08:55:50 am

Am I one of those two people you know who write?

Reply
The WordWeaver
1/18/2013 08:57:30 am

Yup.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.