A few people...well, one person asked if I was going to publish my novel The Traitor's Tale.  I don't know, since I'm a fairly amateur writer/author, I don't think that a publishing company would publish my novel, I try not to brag, so sometimes I understate things, my novel is okay, but it's not amazing.  I wrote it in 107 days exactly so I'll tell you the story of my novel, the first ten days I wrote and finished the first draft.  But the first draft was nowhere from complete.  After a while I started in on my second draft, well, actually my first draft if you call the first draft the rough draft.  Anyway, I was slowly beginning to be bogged down by the amount of writing I was doing, I seriously mean about 3 to 5 hours a day.  Yeah, I really like to write, but I was doing it to fast.  Now I realize if I slowed down and put more thought into each sentence, then it would be a LOT better.  So at the moment of finishing the rough draft it was only about eighty pages, not quite a novel, I forget the exact word count but it wasn't the 40,000 that signals the beginning of a new born novel.

About my third draft I really was slowing down.  A lot of days I didn't even write at all.  So the progress was really bad.  But eventually I finished the third draft and was into my last draft, the ominous, the terrifying, the FOURTH DRAFT!

The first while of the fourth draft was just as slow as before.  I had read it over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and...well, you get the point.  And I hadn't just read it, I thought about it for hours, I wrote it, and then I read, and read it, and read it.  Now that it's done, I see I shouldn't have rushed myself, but I'm not going to write a fifth draft, why?  My novel would have to be completely rewritten to make it better.  But still, I am proud of my work! 

So yeah, I'm going to wait a while, but I may or I may not publish it, I you'll have to see, meanwhile, I'll still write and post things up here.  There's been a short story I've been working on.   It's called, Second Chance.  It's about A grandfather and his Grandson that live up in the Alps, and in the Alps, there is a war, not of death, but a strife between a Grandfather and his Grandson.
11/21/2012 08:15:49 am

And what was your point in the post before this one?
"I had read it over, and over, and over, and over, and over, and...well, you get the point", in your own words!

Reply
11/21/2012 08:24:45 am

Just so you know, your mom just picked the boots from our house for you; I hope you enjoy them! One company I am very sure would publish your novel is Mercury Inc.. I'm not completely sure how to reach the publishing website, but you should be able to get there through "www.theblaze.com". I most sincerely long to read TTT!

Reply
Robert Thacker
11/21/2012 10:53:26 pm

To your first comment: I believe I was referring to my novel, that I had read it over and over and over.

Second Comment: Mercury Inc.? I've never heard of it, I'll be sure to look up about it! TTT is... definitely not my best writing though... it is filled with grammatical errors. (as I am sure just this comment is)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.