NaNoWriMo is boding... interestingly.  I've got 22,994 words, but I should be past 25,000, so I'm heading for that today.  I doubt I'll make it, yet, I shall strive to do so.  If it makes my bones go white and fall to ashes, if it makes my hair fall out, my eyes grow wrinkled and black.  Even if I die a horrible, writing educed death, I shall writer 60,000 words this month!  I cannot live through a failure in my own writing challenge.

Anyway, I've been fighting very, very large battles with Emperor Procrastination.  He's beaten me several times, yet today I beat him in one of the closest battles I have had so far.  Okay, okay, maybe I'm not literally fighting Procrastination, but it's a struggled all writers have to go through, and, at the moment, that's what I'm fighting in.

It's like a swamp.  Once your leg is stuck in the swirling, purple, festering water, you cannot get out.  You are doomed unless you fight with your greatest might to destroy the evilness of the swamp.

Sorry, I'll try not to go down one of those rabbit-trails again.  But I have been suffering from Procrastination.  And weariness.  I think a lot of NaNoers are finding this about now.  I know for sure that a least a few are.  And my case of Procrastination isn't as bad as some people's and for that, I am grateful, though I hope that they slay the monstrous beast that I too, am fighting (Procrastination).

My plot is finally starting to move along, yet I am nowhere from even being half done.  I've got so much material that, as I have said before, I will need to put in another novel, a sequel of some sort.

Also, I've been harassed by my other, uncompleted or not yet started writings.  They beg of me to set aside Vengeance's Blade, they say You have given that novel to much attention, come, leave that one alone and write us... write us.  If you just imagined that in an evil goblin voice, good for you, that's what I was thinking of it my head.  But it's the truth, though, no, I don't really have goblins lurking on the edge of my head.  I am tempted so many times to write something else.  BUT I MUST FOCUS!!!  Goblins or not.  I just came up with yet another novel idea.  I HAVE TO MANY!!! Actually, I don't, but I wouldn't be overly surprised if I don't have the time to write them all in my life.

So, that's my update.  Sort of short, so I'll add in an excerpt.



Chapter 13.

“Wha? Wha’ am I?” asked Hedrian as he woke, his mind as befuddled and mixed around as it possibly could.
       “You are,” began Remil, “in a pit, with a large spider crawling-”
       “AAH!!! AAAH!! GET IT AWAY! GET IT AW-”
        Tarth put a hand over Hedrian’s mouth, he held his other hand to his own mouth, “quiet, do you want to get us all killed?  Remil was joking.  We are in a forest, trying to wake you.”  Tarth released his hand from his companion’s mouth.
       Hedrian blinked, then whispered, “well, are we near the tower yet?”
       “No,” said Tarth critically, “I couldn’t drag you around any longer so we attempted to wake you, now that you are, we can resume our journey.”
       “But I’m tired,” moaned Hedrian, swinging his arms around.
       “Don’t complain like a child, keep your lips tight and your grasp on fear even tighter.”  Tarth laid a hand on Hedrian’s quaking, sweating shoulder.

That's right where I am, at the moment in my novel.  It's fun to write, but time-gobbling and  increasingly difficult as I struggle to find the right words.  Well, I guess that's all.

Farewell!

The Kid Author
11/13/2012 03:13:06 am

Awesome excerpt! :D

Reply
11/13/2012 03:20:38 am

Sounds great! Good luck!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.