It's one of the worst-

scratch that.

Procrastination is the worst nightmare a writer can have.

Writer's Block is not an almost daily, constant nagging.  It strikes at times... but eventually will scatter back to its hole.

Procrastination, however, takes a bit of a harder punch - a more potent tonic.

Determination.

Yes, well, it's quite easy to say you're going to go write.  But then to actually get up from your comfortable, cozy lazy-boy chair, take a few agonizing steps that feel like lead weights are tied to your feet, and finally, sit down on your designated chair for writing.

But it isn't over.

No, not by a longbow's shot.  (Hm... maybe trying to avoid that cliche didn't quite work out...)

Anyway, there's more.  Like me, earlier today, you have to turn on your computer.

Meanwhile those feisty little goblins are pricking you in the back, nudging you, whispering with their wheezy little - yet very convincing - voices, to get up, go play outside in the inch-deep snow, talk to some random person you see in your house... even play a video game!

As the Microsoft Windows little icon pops up, you here your brother's voice begin to jabber off.  It's distracting you.

Or at least it was to me.

Well, those pesky little goblins are still there, beckoning... promising... almost begging... though not quite.  You even begin to name them.  Crouch-nose... Measle-feet... Wart-head... Pink-eye...

The little ring of your computer, signaling it has finally turned on, dances through the air, snapping most of your attention back.  And just in time, those goblins might have gotten you.

There sits the document on your computer screen.  Your cursor flows over to the title, and a little explanation thingy-jig pops up, telling the troubling tale you haven't updated it since November 30.  You told yourself you'd continue after NaNoWriMo... it just wasn't coming.

Here 22 days had passed and yet... 0 words were written.

ZERO


You sigh, discouraged, and maybe even disgruntled.  You feel as though writing betrayed you.  Something wrong!...

___________________________________________________________________

The above account was dramatically dramatized for dramatic effect.  But hey, I'm sure we've all gotten somewhere close to that before.  So here's how to kill Procrastination.  It won't kill it forever, mind you, it's got so many masks, disguises, and tricks up its sleeve we'll all be cringing, but it doesn't mean we should give up as writers.  No.  Not while we still have breath in our lungs and blood in our veins.

There are a lot of good authors that were never published, or had been published, yet never gained their due sales they should have attained.  Yet, we cannot give up, and Procrastination, nor any of its kin will be able to stop us.

The one way to kill the Writer's Enemy (Procrastination), is to fight fire with fire.

No, don't turn into a pyromaniac.  Turn into a flame.

Just sit down and write.

Just do it.

The world depends on it.

Nothing else can stop the destruction of the world.

And only you, yes YOU can save it.

So write.

Just do it.

No excuses, no restraints, and kick those little goblins out of your mind, I'm sure Crouch-nose, Measle-feet, Wart-head, Pink-eye, Wolf-heart, Fur-back, and the rest of the gang will understand.

So just go write.  I'm telling you, that's the only thing that will help.  Force yourself, the world won't wait, and neither will Procrastination ease off, it's you who has to take the first action, granted, you may take breaks, but when Procrastination sets in, the only break that you need is a Jaw-Breaker (.... or something like that.  Candy helps).

Farewell, and my thy pencils stay sharp, thy pens flowing with ink, and let thy words fly true.

The Kid Author.
The Moira Girl
12/22/2012 11:52:23 pm

Awww..... rats. Hit the head on the nail. *rather large sigh* OK... ok.... but seriously... I mean, I haven't been home all this time! I honestly couldn't write. But last night on the fourteen hour drive home I was so bouncing to get writing I drew out my cell phone (which has a novel idea——BUTTONS!), and wrote up a good ole paragraph. Heeehee. :) Now to figure out how to transfer it to the computer!
Oh well. Great, stimulating post. In fact, so stimulating, I'm going to go write right now. After, of course, I....
;) JK! :D

Reply
The WordWeaver
12/25/2012 08:40:23 am

You're back! Awesome. :D

I hope you get to writing a ton! Apparently I haven't been following my own advice... I need, NEED to write. Right now.

Reply
The Moira Girl
12/27/2012 06:57:29 am

Yes! I'm back! And oh, how I miss you all on the UG :( Tell everyone hi for me! I'll be on around New Years...

Thank you! I have two writing projects I'm focusing in on at present, we'll see if that works. Aww, I'm sorry. :( :( Well, if your pen ever goes dry, I can lend you mine.
Excepting, of course, the fact that I don't write by hand. ;)

12/23/2012 02:34:32 am

Soooo true.

-Ryebrynn

Reply
12/23/2012 06:22:47 am

VERY TRUE! I am still going to write my novel -- F.W. -- (Code

name for my very first novel I am going to publish!) I shall kick

those goblins back to their own dominion! The only other true novel

I have written (more of a novella) is "The Dangerous Escapade",

which I started on May 17, and finished on June 8. By the way,

tomorrow -- Christmas Eve -- I have the part of Joseph in our church

play! I bet YOU aren't playing JOSEPH in a play any time soon! :)

Prideful-- Oh! I mean, uh, sincerely...yes! Sincerely,
General J.S.

Reply
12/24/2012 05:06:35 am

So true. So true!!

-Ryebrynn

Reply
General J.S.
1/11/2013 10:07:53 am

Everyone! Go to supernovatwilight.roxer.com!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.