Okay, I'm going to post something I've been wanting to post for a long, long, long, long, long, long, long, long, long, long, long, long, (okay, maybe not quite that long) time.


Humor is funny, no, really.  Why is it funny?  Well, my explanation, is that it is a little bit tricky.  What I'm talking about is humor in writing, not just joking around the table.  No, that humor comes freely and easily.... because that's what comes automatically.  Some people say I'm funny, but that isn't incorporated into my writing as much as I want it to be.

So, what exactly makes humor in talking different than in writing?  You might have your own ways of answering this, but the main problem for me is, frankly, I don't know what to put in.  And for me it doesn't come as easily as it does when I'm just talking.  If I write a story based around humorous happenings, it may be funny, but I can't just put it in my everyday writing, I need to really, really think about it.

First, I need to have a set up for the punch line.  Why is it funny anyway?  Often times everything needs to lead up exactly.  In The Traitor's Tale, I've noticed several things that if I had just changed slightly, would have been hilarious.   Now I'm finding those things and making them funnier.

The most recent thing is when ***SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER*** did ***SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER*** as you can see, it's not funny but if I changed it to          *** SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER*** then it would be hilarious.... don't you get it???


10/2/2012 03:54:52 am

Usually, humor in writing is more thought out and premeditated. When I'm writing, I think back to a time when I (or someone else) said something clever or witty, then I try to incorporate that into my story. If I can't, oh well. You can't blame a crook for trying... ;)

And yeah, I get it. :D

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.