Last night I watched 'Toy Story 3' for the first time.

An interesting movie, for sure, but not really my favorite - at all.

ALERT SPOILERS FOR TOY STORY 3.

Cons.

First, just because I don't like Romance, I'll say that it's not a helpful thing to the movie. Romance rarely is, and... I just don't like it.

Although, the whole thingy about Buzz Lightyear being Spanish was more just funny than anything else.



More Cons.


I've learned a lot since I've watched either of the two other Toy Stories, and one of those things is that every character should have some characterization.


For the most part, the Screen-Writers did a fantastic job at this.  However, some of Woody's companions were just... there.  Stuck in the whirlwind of chaos.  Why?  Because they needed something that toy could do.


Slinky the dog (or whoever he is) for instance, he's just an accessory, he has no character development what-so-ever.  With a small group like Woody's, I think everyone deserves at least some attention.


And also Buzz Lightyear.  I couldn't help but notice that - while he was involved in a lot of action - they didn't develop him as they did Woody and some of the other characters.


Maybe I'm being too picky, but that's one thing I noticed.


Another thing that annoyed me was *PREPARE FOR SPOILERS.  DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVE NOT SEEN THE MOVIE.  I WARNED YOU.* when everyone was about to die.


They were slowly coming closer to that big ball of fire, when help came in the form of a crane.  Woopidy doo.  The screen-writers just RUINED my night.  (And probably the next day.)


I hate cheap and cheesy excuses out of situations, and that - to me - was one of them.  Couldn't those three little thingies from Pizza Planet just followed the toys, then pressed the button which stopped the fire?  That might be a-not-so-concrete solution either, but to me it would be better.


Pros.


Other than Slinky, the Character Development was superb.  It's interesting, because it feels like I know Lots o' much better than I do Buzz.  Because Buzz wasn't really developed as much as he could have been.  But Lots o' was.  In both his actions and his past, a clear image came forth.


And a clear and consistent image of a character is almost always good.  In this case, it was good.  Though I do not mean to say being plain is O.K., and that's part of the reason why I thought Lots o' was done so well, because it didn't tell, it showed.


The plot was good, loyalty being chief among everything.  I really liked how Woody was split between which to choose - his friends or Andy.  Because a character on a mission will almost always succeed, but if a character has a choice that is equally important, you never know which one he will choose, and that makes it all the better.


*MASSIVE SPOILERS.  TURN AWAY IF YOU HAVE NOT WATCHED TOY STORY 3!!!*


And lastly, I come to the ending.


All I have to say about it was... it was so good!  And sad.


*SPOILERS ARE NOW OVER!*
*****************************************************************************


I give this movie a 7-out-of-10 stars.


~The WordWeaver  (A later post is coming soon - hopefully).
General J.S.
1/29/2013 07:44:25 am

What is your phone number? We can talk live about S.W.'s if you have time!

Why is this the first time that you've watched it? In other words, it was produced like two or three years ago, right?

I actually am fine with them not having given every character much attention.

Näkemiin,
General J.S.

Reply
The WordWeaver
1/29/2013 10:27:18 am

Cool! I'll email my phone number later.

Do you have Skype? I do, if you had it, we could talk on there as well.

The long explanation for not watching it is because my dad is a Pastor, which means he doesn't get much money, plus my mom doesn't have a job, and we spent a lot of money on two new cars a few years ago.

In other words, we RARELY get new movies. So, yeah, we get movies for 10 cents at goodwill. LOL. :P

Yes, but Buzz Lightyear was a pretty important character, and, well, he was just there, they didn't really develop him at all.

~The WordWeaver

Reply
General J.S.
1/30/2013 09:05:02 am

We do have Skype -- that is a great idea!

You can watch movies for free on VEEHD.COM (you have to create

an account, I think; the account is free). There are some other

websites we use, too, but one or two of those have morally bad

pictures on the very front page, so I won't give those to you. We

prefer to use veehd, since it has most movies, and because it has

hardly any bad pictures. We actually rarely buy or rent movies --

we almost always use veehd and the other websites. It is also a

rare time when we go to the theatre -- we have gone to see

Madagascar one, Act of Valor, and The Hobbit. A very few other,

too, but not many

Reply
The WordWeaver
1/31/2013 10:05:26 am

Okay! My username is... actually, I'll email it to you tonight.

Ah, I might have heard of Veehd before.

Yeah, we only get cheap movies.

EVERYWHERE I GO IT'S ABOUT THE HOBBIT!!! :P Haha, anyway, I really want to see it. :)

~The WordWeaver

Reply
General J.S.
2/1/2013 04:57:54 am

HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT HOBBIT . . . so there! Ha, ha.

Reply
The WordWeaver
2/1/2013 11:40:36 am

AAAAAH!!!!!!!

STOP!! AAAAAH!!!!

*Dies*

Reply
General J.S.
2/1/2013 10:25:30 pm

OOOOPS! *brings out bring-back-to-life-gun*

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.